© 2022 West Virginia Public Broadcasting
Telling West Virginia's Story
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WVPB Boards

The EBA is WVPB's governing board, and members are appointed by the governor or serve in an ex-officio capacity on behalf of their educational organizations.

The EBA meets quarterly the first Wednesday in March, June, September and December unless otherwise noted here.

William H. File III, Chair, Beckley

Michael J. Farrell, Vice Chair, Huntington
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

Carol Rotruck, Morgantown

Thomas Land Susman, Charleston

Stephen Taylor Hood, Barboursville

Danielle M. Waltz, South Charleston

Greg Thomas, South Charleston

Frank D. Wood, Daniels

Governor Jim Justice
(Represented by Randall Reid-Smith,
Curator, West Virginia Division of Culture and History)

W. Clayton Burch, Charleston
Superintendent of Schools, West Virginia Department of Education

Nancy J. White, Berkeley Springs
Board of Education

Our foundation receives major gifts, grants and bequests for WVPB and manages the organization's endowment fund.

The Foundation board meets quarterly the first Wednesday in March, June, September and December unless otherwise noted here.

Michael J. Farrell, Chair, Huntington

Edward C. (Ted) Armbrecht, Jr., Vice Chair, At-Large, Charleston

Ellen Goodwin, Secretary, At-Large, Morgantown

Leslie Nutting, Treasurer, At-Large, Wheeling

Barbara Bean, At-Large (also EBA), Bridgeport

William (Bill) File, III, EBA Chair, Beckley

Brian Gallagher, Friends Chair, Huntington

Cynthia Geary, At-Large, Petersburg

Lynda Goldberg, At-Large, Morgantown

Deborah Hammond, At-Large, Falling Waters

Peter Holloway, Wheeling

Steven Hopta, At-Large, Charleston

Shana Phares, Friends Immediate Past Chair, Charleston

Carol Rotruck, (also EBA), Morgantown


The Friends, a charitable 501(c)(3) organization, supports WVPB’s quality services and solicits and manages annual membership donations on behalf of WVPB. Every individual contribution entitles a donor to membership.

The Friends board meets quarterly the second Wednesday in March, June, September and December unless otherwise noted here.

Brian Gallagher, Chair, Huntington

Walt Warren, Vice Chair, Wheeling

Cecelia Mason, Secretary, Martinsburg

Peter L. Staffel, Treasurer, Wheeling

Shana Phares, Immediate Past Chair, Charleston

Lauri Andress, Morgantown

Rebekah (Bekah) Aranda, Morgantown

Georgiana Atkinson, Parkersburg

Julie Blackwood, Charleston

Bonnie Brown, Charleston

Sara Crickenberger, Lewisburg

Terry Floyd, Huntington

Nicholas Freidin, Huntington

Elliot Hicks, Charleston

Sally Howard, Beckley

Betty Ireland, Charleston

Keith Jackson, Morgantown

Eva F. Jones, Charleston

Mark A. Lewis, Parkersburg

David Lieving, Huntington

Brian Lilly, Beckley

Renee Margocee, Charleston

Robert (Robby) Moore, III, Beckley

David Moran, Petersburg

Elaine Parke, Berkeley Springs

Rita Ray, Charleston

Karen Rice, Martinsburg

Laurie Ruberg, Wheeling

Mark Sundstrom, Beckley

Christine Villamagna, Wheeling

Tom Witt, Morgantown