On July 30, 1973, Huntington’s Frederick Hotel closed its doors. Prominent Huntington architect James Stewart had designed the building, which was erected in 1905 and ’06 for $400,000. Supposedly, the furnishings alone cost $100,000.
In its day, the Frederick was touted as the most elegant hotel between Pittsburgh and Cincinnati. In addition to its 125 sleeping rooms, it had 11 private dining rooms plus the Colonade Restaurant and the Elephant Walk Club. It also had its own power generators.
In the latter half of the 20th century, occupancy rates started declining. In 1973, Hotel Manager William Ritter Jr. closed the building as a hotel and converted it into rental units for occupants and businesses, which is how it still functions today. Its longevity as a Huntington institution is a testament to the quality of its construction, including its façade made of special hardened brick.
Today, the showpiece of the Frederick remains its lobby, which features a stained glass window and displays memorabilia from the hotel’s and Huntington’s past. Many shops and businesses rent first-floor storefronts, along Fourth Avenue and 10th Street in the heart of downtown Huntington.