Fayette Becomes 23rd W.Va. County To Join High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas

Sep 10, 2019

Fayette County has been designated as a High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area, or HIDTA. The designation allows for more resources to combat the opioid epidemic.

This announcement makes Fayette County the 23rd West Virginia county to be designated as a High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area.

The designation allows the county to receive federal resources to help coordinate and develop drug control efforts among federal, state and local law enforcement.

It also makes it possible for local agencies to benefit from ongoing HIDTA-coordinated initiatives that work to reduce drug use.

The Office of National Drug Control Policy announced in a press release that Fayette County is one of 13 counties across the nation to join its existing HIDTA program this week. 

Other counties to join the Appalachia HIDTA this week are Boyd County, Kentucky and Anderson County, Tennessee.

West Virginia Counties in the Appalachia HIDTA include Boone, Brooke, Cabell, Fayette, Hancock, Harrison, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Mingo, Monongalia, Ohio, Putnam, Raleigh, Wayne, Wood, and Wyoming Counties. 

West Virginia Counties in the Washington/Baltimore HIDTA include Berkeley and Jefferson Counties.