© 2022 West Virginia Public Broadcasting
Telling West Virginia's Story
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Eight W.Va. Women to be Honored at Legacy Awards

Capitol, West Virginia State Capitol
Perry Bennett
West Virginia Legislative Photography

The West Virginia Women's Commission is honoring eight women next week with the Legacy of Women Awards.

The commission said Christine Weiss Daugherty is being given the Katherine Coleman Goble Johnson Award for lifetime achievement.

Others being honored are Michelle R. Easton, Patricia A. Petty-Wilson, Janis Gunel, Mara C. Boggs, Christine Campbell, Anne Patterson and Renee Danielle Montgomery.

Commission Executive Director Julie Palas said the women being honored have been generous with their time and talent and have been role models for others.

The event is being held on March 29 at West Virginia State University in Institute.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.

WVPB is local news, education, music, and entertainment for West Virginia.
Your donation today will help keep us strong and vital.