© 2022 West Virginia Public Broadcasting
Telling West Virginia's Story
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Yeager Among Aviation Hall of Fame Inductees

Yeager beside the Bell X-1 rocket plane Glamous Glennis.
e-wv, The West Virginia Encyclopedia online.
Chuck Yeager, Lockheed P-80, Charleston, Lincoln County, World War II

Record-setting test pilot Chuck Yeager and former astronaut Jon McBride are among eight people inducted into the West Virginia Aviation Hall of Fame.

The other inductees are former U.S. Sen. Jay Rockefeller, Kemp McLaughlin, Irene Crum, Bill Pancake, Donald Judy and Angelo Koukoulis.

Media outlets report that the induction ceremony was held Monday night at The Resort at Glade Springs during the West Virginia Airport Managers Association's annual conference.

Yeager became the first person to break the sound barrier in 1947.

McBride was the lead chase pilot for the maiden voyage of the Columbia space shuttle and was the pilot of the Challenger space shuttle during an eight-day mission in October 1984.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.

WVPB is local news, education, music, and entertainment for West Virginia.
Your donation today will help keep us strong and vital.