© 2021 West Virginia Public Broadcasting
Telling West Virginia's Story
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Twelve Counties to Receive Disaster Aid


Governor Earl Ray Tomblin announced Monday a federal disaster declaration has been approved for 12 counties in the state. 

The counties that can receive assistance are:

  1. Braxton
  2. Brooke
  3. Doddridge
  4. Gilmer
  5. Jackson
  6. Lewis
  7. Marshall
  8. Ohio
  9. Pleasants
  10. Ritchie
  11. Tyler
  12. Wetzel

The declaration means the counties will be provided assistatnce with ongoing state and local recover efforts results from severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred from April 8-11. Hazard Mitigation grants are also available for all 55 West Virginia Counties. 

WVPB is local news, education, music, and entertainment for West Virginia.
Your donation today will help keep us strong and vital.