© 2021 West Virginia Public Broadcasting
Telling West Virginia's Story
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Tomblin Taps Members for West Virginia Water Commission

Office of the Governor

  Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has appointed four members to a panel dedicated to reviewing a new law to protect drinking water supplies.

Appointees include engineer Rick Roberts, hydrologist Ed Watson, public health expert Dr. Mike McCawley and citizen representative Pam Nixon.

Top officials from state environmental and health agencies, Public Service Commission and Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management will be on the commission.

Nonvoting members include Kanawha County Health Officer Dr. Rahul Gupta and Kanawha County Delegate Nancy Guthridge.

The West Virginia Municipal League and West Virginia Rural Water Association will appoint one member each.

The 12-member panel will submit reports to a joint legislative committee by Dec. 15 annually, starting this year.

The law responds to a January chemical spill that tainted 300,000 people's water for days.

WVPB is local news, education, music, and entertainment for West Virginia.
Your donation today will help keep us strong and vital.